Shakey Byrne wins fourth British Superbike Championship

Posted: 22/10/2014 10:38:30

After a season of epic battles, overtakes and falls Shakey Byrne stood proudly on the Brands Hatch podium last weekend to take home the 2014 MCE British Superbike Championship trophy. The win takes him into the record books as the first person ever to win four championships in this series.

Mac Tools are extremely proud to have been a part of this success throughout the season and would like to pass on all our congratulations to the Paul Bird Motorsport team including Stuart Easton and Shakey himself on a fantastic season.

More details from the race weekend and the final championship standings can be found below...

BSB Race Report:

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne has made history at Brands Hatch by winning the second MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship race of the weekend to celebrate a record-breaking fourth title.
Byrne's victory gave him the lead in the standings to decide the 2014 title after Ryuichi Kiyonari made the tough decision to sit out of today's two races due to his fractured collarbone.
Dan Linfoot led on the opening lap as the pack streamed around Paddock Hill Bend for the first time ahead of the chasing pack of James Ellison, Jon Kirkham and Howie Mainwaring. Byrne had got off the line to slot into ninth place and had the task of carving through the order to seal the title ahead of the final race of the season with the top six covered by just 0.6s in the early stages.
Mainwaring pushed ahead of Ellison and then by the ninth lap had hit the front of the pack for the Quattro Plant Kawasaki team. Byrne has been decisively moving up the order and by the tenth lap was challenging Mainwaring for the lead. The Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider moved ahead and then had to keep Mainwaring behind him.
A lap later and Mainwaring made a move at Druids to regain the position but Byrne was instantly on the attack and he moved ahead on the fast run down Pilgrims Drop and then edged ahead as the laps counted down.
Mainwaring then came under pressure from Ellison with two laps to go as the Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki rider took advantage of a mistake from his rival as he had a huge slide out of Surtees. Ellison grasped the advantage to move ahead and then hold off Mainwaring over the closing laps.

Final Championship Standings:
1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 682
2. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) 620
3. Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) 587
4. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 584
5. Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) 577
6. Chris Walker (GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) 525
7. Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 231

comments powered by Disqus